Author Topic: spawning captains with no room  (Read 1744 times)

KJGrenadier

  • Merchant
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Serendipity: +0/-0
  • all the board games! :D
    • View Profile
  • Hero: Acolyte
spawning captains with no room
« on: August 09, 2014, 10:02:20 PM »
If I do not have enough consecutive squares open to spawn a captain, do I just push the little minions around until I do have enough space?  Or do only the captains I have room for spawn?
I love people. 
I love board games. 
This seems to work well. (:

RemiBureau

  • Archer
  • ****
  • Posts: 625
  • Serendipity: +27/-1
    • View Profile
  • Hero: Acolyte
Re: spawning captains with no room
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2014, 10:11:53 PM »
You wouldn't move the minions to have enough consecutive spaces. The rules tell you to spawn the new enemy as close as possible to the lair, so you'd try to find the closest space to the lair that's big enough for that enemy.

If there is no such space on the tile (usually happens on a 6x6), I would spawn the captain anyways (don't want to make things too easy now!). I would put the previous tile back on the table and place the captain there.

That's just me, not saying that's the official rule or anything...
Acolyte - Keeping the Faith since 2015

KJGrenadier

  • Merchant
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Serendipity: +0/-0
  • all the board games! :D
    • View Profile
  • Hero: Acolyte
Re: spawning captains with no room
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2014, 10:14:14 PM »
Thanks RemiBureau for all your help.  I didn't want to make it too easy either, so I moved the minions to fit him in.  However, adding back the previous tile makes more sense if you are not allowed to move them, so I will do that from now on.  Especially cause pushing the minions made it impossible to get to the lair on this 6x6 tile.  It just might be the death of me tomorrow morning.  >_<
I love people. 
I love board games. 
This seems to work well. (:

RemiBureau

  • Archer
  • ****
  • Posts: 625
  • Serendipity: +27/-1
    • View Profile
  • Hero: Acolyte
Re: spawning captains with no room
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2014, 08:55:48 AM »
No problems.

The 6x6 tiles did prove to be somewhat of a puzzle when you put a lair on them. Especially if you don't get rid of it quickly.
Acolyte - Keeping the Faith since 2015

Oileta

  • Double Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
  • Serendipity: +5/-0
  • Double Captain
    • View Profile
  • Hero: Skald
Re: spawning captains with no room
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2014, 09:27:03 AM »
I like the idea of placing the old tile, and I would just add one of that was the first tile of the act. How do you guys feel about the rule that you can't have two tiles if the same size adjacent unless they are combined? I disagree but understand that with six gold and a merchant a 6x6 is probably the most valuable so you don't want to just stack those.

RemiBureau

  • Archer
  • ****
  • Posts: 625
  • Serendipity: +27/-1
    • View Profile
  • Hero: Acolyte
Re: spawning captains with no room
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2014, 11:42:45 AM »
I don't really know why they don't want us to play 2 tiles of the same size back-to-back. This, to me, is a clear case of "if you'd like to play a second X x X tile right now, go ahead", even though it's against the rules.
Acolyte - Keeping the Faith since 2015

Oileta

  • Double Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
  • Serendipity: +5/-0
  • Double Captain
    • View Profile
  • Hero: Skald
Re: spawning captains with no room
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2014, 06:36:20 PM »
I think it is silly too. It is not like we will forget that we did then one by one. The only thought is gaming the 6x6. With no mandatory lair and  6 gold and a merchant it is probably the most valuable single tile imo. But since this is such a sandbox who cares cares?

expectral

  • Myth Fan
  • Posts: 19
  • Serendipity: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: spawning captains with no room
« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2014, 05:59:32 AM »
it's to limit the gold diggers (+merchants) on 6x6, for example.