Author Topic: Apprentice discarding ongoing cards and threat  (Read 1795 times)

KJGrenadier

  • Merchant
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Serendipity: +0/-0
  • all the board games! :D
    • View Profile
  • Hero: Acolyte
Apprentice discarding ongoing cards and threat
« on: August 09, 2014, 08:41:08 PM »
As the rules for me are confusing, and the FAQ does not address it:

1)  Does the apprentice discarding ongoing cards allow him to reduce threat for that slot?

2)  Does the apprentice consuming ongoing cards allow him to reduce threat for those slots?

If yes for 2:

 3)  Does the apprentice consuming ongoing cards immediately allow him to clear those slots, and then be able to refill them with other cards?
« Last Edit: August 09, 2014, 08:43:17 PM by KJGrenadier »
I love people. 
I love board games. 
This seems to work well. (:

RemiBureau

  • Archer
  • ****
  • Posts: 625
  • Serendipity: +27/-1
    • View Profile
  • Hero: Acolyte
Re: Apprentice discarding ongoing cards and threat
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2014, 10:06:40 PM »
1. The Apprentice (and the Brigand) has the ability to remove Ongoings BEFORE threat reduction during the Deck Phase, so yes, Ongoings removed this way also reduce threat since the slot is considered empty during the Deck Phase.

2. No, Ongoings used to power-up other Spells stay in the slot until removed at the end of the Deck Phase, and therefore, don't reduce threat.

3. Same as 2.
Acolyte - Keeping the Faith since 2015

Endevor

  • Double Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 224
  • Serendipity: +13/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Apprentice discarding ongoing cards and threat
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2014, 05:31:49 AM »
I am not playing this rule at all, threat management is a big part of playing the Acolyte, if you can play an Ongoing and in the SAME HC remove it and lower your threat it is really not a challenge at all.

For me you remove your cards AFTER the threat magement step not before.

Endevor

  • Double Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 224
  • Serendipity: +13/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Apprentice discarding ongoing cards and threat
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2014, 11:35:31 AM »
And it seems i was right:
From Kenny
Quote
3. At the start of the Hero Deck Phase the first thing that happens is you reduce threat based on available Action Spaces. Then players may move non-Ongoing cards and any Ongoing cards they choose to discard to discard at this time.

RemiBureau

  • Archer
  • ****
  • Posts: 625
  • Serendipity: +27/-1
    • View Profile
  • Hero: Acolyte
Re: Apprentice discarding ongoing cards and threat
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2014, 01:42:47 PM »
Yes, it seems Kenny overruled Brian on this one.

So now it's simpler and it's more consistant with the rest of the game.
Acolyte - Keeping the Faith since 2015

Oileta

  • Double Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
  • Serendipity: +5/-0
  • Double Captain
    • View Profile
  • Hero: Skald
Re: Apprentice discarding ongoing cards and threat
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2014, 09:16:57 AM »
I was playing like endevor buy now I know thanks guys